

February 22, 2022

Representative Zack Stephenson Chair, House Commerce Policy & Finance Committee 509 State Office Building St. Paul, MN 55155

Re: Support for Reducing Sources of PFAS (H.F. 2906, H.F. 2907, H.F. 2952)

Dear Chair Stephenson,

The Partnership on Waste and Energy (Partnership) is a Joint Powers Board consisting of Hennepin, Ramsey and Washington counties, formed to address waste management and energy issues. The Partnership seeks to end waste, promote renewable energy and enhance the health and resiliency of communities we serve while advancing equity and responding to the challenges of a changing climate.

The Partnership supports measures to design waste, toxicity and pollution out of the marketplace in pursuit of a sustainable, circular economy. Focusing on upstream solutions are more efficient and effective than dealing with costs and impacts after products have been used and disposed.

The Partnership is very concerned about the persistent presence of PFAS in the state's land, water and other resources. We support initiatives to reduce sources of PFAS as a strategy to protect public health and minimize the potential for PFAS to appear in waste materials and facilities managing those materials. Efforts such as H.F. 2906, H.F. 2907 and H.F. 2952 (Rep. Wazlawik) encourage re-examination of product design. This can minimize the use of ingredients that create problems for consumers, local governments and waste system operators and leave legacy costs that taxpayers are often forced to manage.

The Partnership appreciates the priority legislators place on mitigating the environmental and economic challenges posed by a range of problematic ingredients, including PFAS, and look forward to solutions that reduce PFAS in our environment and protect public health.

Sincerely,

Commissioner Fran Miron, Washington County

Chair, Partnership on Waste and Energy

cc: Simon Brown, Committee Administrator

Commissioner Debbie Goettel, Hennepin County

Commissioner Victoria Reinhardt, Ramsey County

House Commerce Policy & Finance Committee members